Faculty Senate Minutes February 19, 2019

The meeting was called to order at 4:10 p.m. All departments were in attendance except Accounting & Finance, Athletics, Communication and Theatre, Government and Political Affairs, Interdisciplinary Studies, Library, and Physics.

I. Minutes of previous meeting

The minutes of the February 5, 2019 meeting of the Faculty Senate were approved as written.

II. Proposed Courses and Programs

NEW UNDERGRADUATE COURSES

(1) (MATH008) MATH 304: Matrix Algebra and Applications, 4 credits. Proposal for new course was approved without dissent.

CHANGES TO UNDERGRADUATE COURSES

- (2) (ARTD023) DESN 244: Typography II. Proposal to change course description was approved without dissent.
- (3) (ARTD023) DESN 332: Material Design. Proposal to add a prerequisite was approved without dissent.
- (4) (MUSI013) MUSI 317: The Art of Teaching Elementary Music According to the Kodály Concept. Proposal to change course number was approved without dissent.

CHANGES TO UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAMS

(5) (CSCI010) BS, Computer Science. Proposal to change program requirements was approved without dissent.

CURRICULUM FRAMEWORK

A Halawa/R. Baker motion to endorse submission of a curricular framework for a BS in Sports Administration degree to PASSHE was approved without dissent.

III. Report of the Faculty Senate Chairperson

Chair Walsh urged faculty to attend the presidential inauguration and graduation ceremonies in regalia.

IV. Report of the APSCUF President

A report from Dr. Robyn Davis was shared indicating upcoming events for internship information (March 19 and April 2), career week (February 25-28), practice interviews (March 4), and the job fair (March 27).

X. Reports of the Faculty Senate Special Committees

None

XI. Faculty Emeriti

(5) (CSCI010) BS, Computer Science. Proposal to change program requirements was approved without dissent.

A Halawa/R. Baker motion to endorse submission of a BS in Sports Administration degree to PASSHE was approved without dissent.

A Frankum/Dreon motion to elect Senator Kat Walsh as Chair, Senator Shaun Cook as Chair Pro Tempore, and Senators Jeri Robinson (fall) and Aimee Miller (spring) as Secretary for Faculty Senate in 2019-2020 was approved without dissent.