Effective: October 1997

University Governance COMMISSION on CULTURAL DIVERSITY & INCLUSION

Approved: October 1997 Revised: March 22, 2007 Revised: November 22, 2019 University President

The Commission on Cultural Diversity and Inclusion was established by University administration to foster the achievement of racial and cultural diversity and inclusion on the University campus.

Membership

- A maximum of twenty-five members, representing members of the Council of Trustees, administrators, faculty, students, support staff and individuals of the surrounding community, appointed by the President for staggered three-year terms.
- 2. No member shall serve for more than two consecutive terms.

The majority of the commission shall consist of Black and Hispanic persons.

- 3. The Chief Diversity Officer, or his/her designee, as an ex officio non-voting member.
- 4. In the case of chronic absenteeism, the chairperson will contact the person who fails to attend three scheduled meetings in a given year. A permanent replacement may be appointed for that member.
- 5. Should a member resign prior to the expiration of his/her term, the commission shall make recommendations to the President from which the President shall select a replacement to complete the remainder of the term of that person.
- 6. The chairperson is appointed by the President from among current and previous Black and Hispanic members for a one-year term.
- 7. Past chairs may, at the discretion of the President, be invited to serve on the commission following the expiration of their terms.
- 8. The anniversary date of terms shall be September 1.