

Effective: November 2019

University Governance PRESIDENT'S COMMISSION on GENDER & SEXUAL DIVERSITY

Approved: November 22, 2019 University President

The President's Commission on Gender and Sexual Diversity was established by University administration to foster a university climate that promotes equity, inclusion, and affirmation for all people representative within the spectrum of gender and sexual expression (e.g., are or are perceived to be lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender/transsexual, questioning/queer, intersex, allies/androgynous/asexual (LGBTQIA), etc.) at Millersville University. The Commission actively supports policies, practices, and programs that pursue this goal for students, staff, faculty, administrators, and the general public with respect to sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression.

Membership

- 1. On or before February 1 of each year, the Commission shall submit recommendations to the University President for appointment to the Commission.
- 2. Appointment to the Commission is at the sole discretion of the University President.
- Membership shall consist of a minimum of fifteen (15) voting members including the Commission Chairperson(s)—with representation from among administrators, faculty, staff, students from the university, and members from the surrounding community.
- 4. Minimum representation from the following divisions of the university should be as follows:
 - a. Administration 2
 - b. Faculty 3
 - c. Staff 3
 - d. Students 3
 - e. Community members 2

- 5. Ex-officio members shall include: the Vice President of Student Affairs or their designee, the Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer or their designee, the Faculty Advisor for the Gender and Sexuality Alliance (Allies), the President of the Gender and Sexuality Alliance (Allies) or their designee, a member of the President's Commission on Cultural Diversity & Inclusion, and a member of the President's Commission on the Status of Women. These positions shall be counted as it pertains to provision D.
- 6. Terms of Membership
 - a. Members shall be appointed by the University President to serve overlapping terms of three years, except for srmcls (t)2 (.t2 (y)4 ()][J[(and)10 (I)2 (nc)4 (I)6

University Governance: President's Commission on Gen