Effective: October 1997

University Governance UNDERGRADUATE HONORS and AWARDS COMMITTEE

Approved: Revised March 31, 2009, Cabinet Revised March 6, 2019, Deans' Council Revised: August 2023, Dean's Council

The Undergraduate Honors and Awards Committee is charged with the responsibility for the determination of recipients of university awards as noted below.

Membership

- One faculty representative from five academic colleges that focus on undergraduates (College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, College of Education and Human Services, College of Science and Technology, Lombardo College of Business, and the University College) recommended by the Deans' Council for overlapping terms of three years. Final appointment resides with the Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs or his/her designee. Faculty members may be reappointed to the committee indefinitely with the recommendation of Deans' Council
- 2. Director, Honors College, or his/her designee.
- 3. One representative from Student Affairs, appointed by the Vice President for Student Affairs.
- 4. One representative from Financial Aid, appointed by the Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs.
- 5. A representative from University Advancement, appointed by the Vice President for University Advancement.
- 6. A representative from the Deans Council, appointed by the Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs.
- 7. The chairperson is appointed from among the membership by the Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs for a one-year term.

Functions

1. Faculty Representatives on the Committee will select award winners for the following University awards: A.G. Breidenstine Scholarship, Schock Foundation Fellowship and the Syed R. Ali-Zaidi Award.

Modifications

Modifications of this committee may